DRACUT — Members of the Dracut Democratic Caucus met on Jan. 31 to choose delegates to the State Democratic Convention, which will be held on June 5 and 6 in Springfield.

Twelve delegates — seven men and five women — were elected, along with three alternate delegates. Nominations were accepted and votes were taken.

The delegates elected are: Peter Wilde, Donna Wilde, Philip Greene, Howard Savard, John Kelly, Janet Gangi, Joseph Gangi Sr., Joseph Gangi Jr., William Zielinski, Sandi Cunha, Lou Ann Jendro and Mary Gail Martin. All votes were unanimous.

They join nonelected delegates Michael C. Blatus, the chairman of the local committee, as well as State Committee member Greg Pappas and State Rep. Colleen Garry.

Martin, who last week announced that she is stepping down from the Dracut School Committee because she is moving to Tyngsoboro, is still eligible to serve as a delegate until the end of 2009 because she is still registered in Dracut. Her husband, Brian, and daughter, Lauryn, members of the Dracut Town Democratic Committee, are also allowed to stay on until the end of the calendar year. The same holds true for Christopher Jenkins, who was elected but is planning on moving to Washington in the near future.

“He (Jenkins) has not resigned as of yet and will let us know if he plans to do so,” said committee treasurer John Dyer, an alternate delegate who presided over the Jan. 31. caucus.

Two other alternates were elected — Selectman John Zimini and former Selectman Kenneth Cunha.

Dennis Shaughnessey’s e-mail address is