William Manzi


METHUEN — Mayor-elect William Manzi has chosen the team to help him expedite the transition into his first term in January.

Former Mayor Dennis DiZoglio will head the team, which represents a cross-section of experienced operatives from government, business and community sectors.

The team will begin meeting with department heads in coming weeks. It will report findings to the mayor in early January.

“As I campaigned this past year, my message was consistent,” Manzi wrote to department heads. “Government can and must work together for everyone. Now that I have the privilege and honor to serve as the mayor, my administration shall honor that pledge and make it an overriding principle throughout my administration.”

“We are faced with the daunting task of transitioning from the previous administration to a new one, but we can view the situation as more than a challenge. It can be an opportunity to open up the way government operates and make noticeable, marked improvements to the delivery of services to the citizens of Methuen.

“The lines of communication opened by this process will only make our ability to work together stronger and more effective.”

DiZoglio, deputy director of the Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority, served as Methuen’s mayor from 1994 to 2000. He was the first mayor in Methuen since 1921. Joining DiZoglio are William Buckley, Corrine Lacharite, Linda Soucy, Mary Ellen DiMarco and former State Sen. James Jajuga.

Buckley oversees a variety of local real estate development and management projects for Boston North Properties. In 1992, he led the transition team for Lynn Mayor-elect Patrick McManus.

Lacharite is executive director of Methuen Elder Affairs, serving the needs of over 8,000 senior citizens. For the past 10 years, she has been president of the board of directors for Elder Services of the Merrimack Valley.

Soucy has 10 years of public service in Methuen, serving on various boards and organizations.

Before being named the state Secretary of Public Safety, Jaguga served a decade as Methuen’s state senator.

State Sen. Steven Baddour, State Rep. Arthur Broadhurst and U.S. Congressman Marty Meehan will serve as unofficial members of the transition team.

Dennis Shaughnessey’s e-mail address is dshaughnessey@thevalleydispatch.com.