BILLERICA -- After a new member joined the School Committee Saturday, the board reorganized Monday night and will have a new leadership team for the next year.

Kim Conway is the new chairwoman of the board, which was led by Dan Cugno last year.

Mark Efstratiou was named vice-chair, and newly-elected member Kate Murphy will be the board's secretary.

Murphy and incumbent Joanne Barry topped the three-way race for two seats on Saturday. Finance Committee member Thomas Aquavella came in last.

Superintendent of Schools Tim Piwowar said before Monday's meeting that he was excited to welcome Murphy aboard.

For more on this story, read Tuesday's edition of The Sun or visit

Follow Rick Sobey on Twitter and Tout @rsobeyLSun.